Monday, February 12, 2007

Cards to honor last three World Series winners

The World Series champions from 1967, 1982, and 2006 will be honored on Opening Day.
Hall of Famers Lou Brock, Bob Gibson and Bruce Sutter are expected to attend, along with Whitey Herzog, who produced one championship and two NL pennants in the 1980s.

Championship rings will be presented in a pre-game ceremony on April 3, the second game of the season, with fans receiving replica rings.
Derrick Goold takes a look at the organization and lineups of the future. Here is what he believes are the top ten prospects:
1. Colby Rasmus, of
2. Jaime Garcia, lhp
3. Chris Perez, rhp
4. Blake Hawksworth, rhp
5. Jon Jay, of
6. Bryan Anderson, c
7. Adam Ottavino, rhp
8. Mark McCormick, rhp
9. Josh Kinney, rhp
10. Darryl Jones, of
Kinney is the only one of those players that saw a lot of time at the major league level and played a key role in coming out of the bullpen. Rasmus is being groomed to replace Jim Edmonds when Edmonds probably retires at the end of his contract.

No comments: